Field set for FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2018

Field set for FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2018

The field of 16 teams that will participate in the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup 2018 is set following the conclusion of the 2017 FIBA Women’s Continental Cups.

Here is a breakdown of the teams and the results they achieved at the Continental Cups in order to qualify for the 2018 FIBA Championships.

Women’s AfroBasket 2017: Nigeria (champions) and Senegal (2nd place).

Women’s AmeriCup 2017: Argentina (2nd place), Canada (champions) and Puerto Rico (3rd place).

Women’s Asia Cup 2017: Australia (2nd place), China (3rd place), Japan (champions) and Korea (4th place).

EuroBasket Women 2017: Belgium (3rd place), France (2nd place), Greece (4th place), Latvia (6th place) and Turkey (5th place).

Spain and the United States of America qualified automatically for the women’s flagship competition as tournament hosts and reigning Olympic champions respectively.

Formerly known as the FIBA Women’s World Championship, 2018 will mark the first time that FIBA’s flagship event for women’s basketball is played under its new name as the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup.

This exciting landmark tournament will be staged in Spain, a nation that also hosted the first-ever FIBA Basketball World Cup.

Spain wrote their own historic chapter at the last edition of the competition when they lined up for their maiden Final in 2014 in Istanbul, Turkey.

However, they were unable to stop the all-conquering USA from retaining the title which they won in 2010.

Indeed the USA have been the dominant force in the competition since 1979, winning eight of the 11 titles on offer since that time. They also finished on the top step of the podium at the first two events, which included the considerable pride of lifting the inaugural title when the prestigious competition was launched in 1953 in Chile.

Six years later, the pendulum swung towards the Soviet Union who experienced the thrill of landing their first title with the added thrill of doing so on home soil in Moscow. It was to spark a truly golden era of quite stunning success.

The Soviet Union did not relinquish their crown for two decades and, to this day, still remain the only country to have won five times in a row. Even 10-time champions USA have not won the competition three times in a row – although that’s something they will be gunning for in 2018.

The action will take place from September 22-30, 2018.


If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock