How Akwa United beat MFM FC to win maiden NPFL title

How Akwa United beat MFM FC to win maiden NPFL title

Akwa United wrapped up the  2020-2021 Nigeria professional football league title with a 5-2 demolition of MFM FC at the Next of Champions in Uyo on Sunday.

The Promise Keepers went into the game, knowing a victory will guarantee them their first ever league crown in 25 years.

Top striker Charles Atshimene opened the scoring for Akwa United on 24 minutes. The striker beat MFM goalkeeper before heading Akwa United in front from close range beats.

An own goal on the 45th-minute own goal by Alimi Adebayo put the hosts 2-0 for the hosts.

Veteran forward Mfon Udoh made it 3-0 on 62 minutes, before Michael Mbonu reduced the deficit for MFM from the spot on 68 minutes.

Charles Atshimene scored his second of the game on 87th minutes to make it 4-1 , but Dennis Obasi immediately cut the lead to two when he scored MFM’s second goal.

Atshimene completed his hat-trick with a perfect finish in the added time to make sure the game end 5-2.

Akwa United were confirmed champions with 71 points, and they wrapped up the with a game to spare.

The Kennedy Boboye side will represent Nigeria in the CAF Champions League next season.

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock