Men’s AfroBasket: NBBF lists 12 for Nigeria’s title defence

Men’s AfroBasket: NBBF lists 12 for Nigeria’s title defence

The Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF) says it has listed 12 players for the D’Tigers’ defence of their FIBA Men’s AfroBasket title in Tunisia.

Chimezie Asiegbu, the NBBF Secretary-General, disclosed this on Tuesday in Abuja and added that the team was in high spirits.

“The 12-man team expected to defend the nation’s glory at the 2017 Men’s AfroBasket is made up of eight foreign-based and four home-based players.

“They have been in camp and are expected to work together in the interest of the nation,’’ he said.

The NBBF secretary-general listed the players to include: Dike Azouma, Akinlolu Akingbala, Etim Akakume, Olivier Anuna, Ayodeji Akindele and Diogu Ike.

“The rest are Ikenna Ireogbu, Bryant Mbamalu, Ikechukwu Nwamu, Ochefu Daniel, Abayomi Odunsi and Yahaya Abdul,” he said.

Asiegbu added that Usman Musa and Anthony Koko would go with the team to Tunisia as project players who would watch the team throughout the campaign.

“This will help in preparing the two players for subsequent engagements,’’ he said.

The squad is made up 10 foreign based players led by captain Ike Diogu who is the only member of the title winning squad in 2015.

Others are Deji Akindele, O’karo Akamune, Bryant Mbamalu, Ike Nwamu, Akin Akingbala, Ike Iroegbu Anthony Odunsi, Kelechi Anuna and Washington Wizards forward, Daniel Ochefo.

Players from the Domestic League include Musa Usman, Abdul Yahaya, Dike Azuoma and Victor Anthony.

The team will leave the country on Tuesday and play their first game against Cote d’Ivoire on Friday.

Newsmen report that the team will depart for Tunisia on Wednesday ahead of the competition’s opening match on Friday.


If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock