Aiteo Cup: Holders FCIU win, Plateau United and Sunshine lose

Aiteo Cup: Holders FCIU win, Plateau United and Sunshine lose

Niger Tornadoes defeated league champions Plateau United 2-0, Sunshine Stars lost 1-0 at Osun United and holders FC Ifeanyiubah dismissed ABS FC in Aiteo Cup quarterfinal first leg today.

The return leg matches of the aiteo cup are billed for Saturday with the overall winners marching on to the last four of the cup competition.

Tornadoes look set to deny Plateau United a league and cup double this year after they saw the Jos club 2-0 in Lokoja.

In Nnewi, FC Ifeanyiubah were truly at home with two goals from Godwin Obaje to make the return leg in Ilorin a difficult for ABS FC.

Ten-man Osun United beat the team of former coach Duke Udi, Sunshine Stars, by the odd goal at home in Osogbo.

Another big clash sees FC Ifeanyi Ubah clash with ABS FC in Nnewi-Ozubulu, while the clash between Akwa United and Katsina United Feeders in Uyo has been moved to Saturday, following a special request by the Katsina Feeders’ Management.

In the women’s competition, Bayelsa Queens and Nasarawa Amazons (two of the strongest sides in the Nigeria Women Premier League) will set alight the Nembe Stadium, just as Ibom Angels and Pelican Stars will battle it out in a potentially –explosive South-South derby in Itam.

Champions Rivers United will clash with Edo Queens at the Yakubu Gown Stadium, while Confluence Queens, who turned back Sure Babes 3-0 in the Round of 16 in Lokoja, will visit Abia Angels in Umuahia.

However, the quarterfinal between Akwa United and Katsina United Feeders Team has been re-arranged.

The winners of Nigeria’s cup competition will represent the country at next year’s CAF Confederation Cup.

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!