Alvaro Morata, Juan Mata, Cesc Fabregas left out of Spain’s Final World Cup Squad

Alvaro Morata, Juan Mata, Cesc Fabregas left out of Spain’s Final World Cup Squad

Alvaro Morata, Cesc Fabregas and Juan Mata have been omitted from Spain’s squad for this summer’s World Cup in Russia but there is a place in Julen Lopetegui’s selection for Diego Costa and Iniesta.

Spanish national team manager Julen Lopetegui presented his 23 man squad as “La Roja” look to emulate the heroics of South Africa in 2010 when Vicente del Bosque’s men lifted their first World Cup title.

As always the prelude to any World Cup list has not been without its speculation with the spotlight falling on the inclusion or not of Chelsea striker Alvaro Morata.

The former Real Madrid and Juve player, despite a bright start with the London club, has had an indifferent season in England and is one of the players to miss out.

Juan Mata is another experienced playmaker to have missed out on the list of Spanish players heading to the World Cup, this could be due to his recent lack of playing time at the Theatre of Dreams.

Football Soccer – Spain v South Korea – International Friendly – Red Bull Arena, Salzburg, Austria – 1/6/16 – Spain’s Cesc Fabregas reacts. REUTERS/Leonhard Foeger
Picture Supplied by Action Images

Another notable omission from the La Roja’s Final World Cup squad is former Arsenal, Barcelona and Chelsea’s playmaker, Cesc Fabregas who has well over 100 caps for the Spanish National team. He last appeared for Spain in 2016.

Spain’s full 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Club), David de Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli)

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Cesar Azpiliqueta (Chelsea), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Nacho Fernandez (Real Madrid), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Isco (Real Madrid), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid), David Silva (Manchester City)

Forwards: Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Rodrigo Moreno (Valencia), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid).

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!