Amokachi, Utaka, Kanu & Other Super Eagles players who have won the FA Cup

Amokachi, Utaka, Kanu & Other Super Eagles players who have won the FA Cup takes a look at the six Super Eagles players that have represented Nigeria and have won the most prestigious Football Trophy, ‘FA Cup’ in England.

Daniel ‘Da Bull’ Amokachi (Everton)

Amokachi is the first Nigeria international to play in the FA Cup final. He was a 69th-minute substitute for Everton in their 1-0 win over Manchester United in the 1995 final at Wembley. Paul Rideout scored the winning goal for Everton.

Celestine Babayaro (Chelsea)

Babayaro was a winner in the 2000 FA Cup final. The left-back played the full 90 minutes as Roberto Di Matteo scored Chelsea’s winning goal against Aston Villa.

Nwankwo Kanu (Arsenal, Portsmouth)

The former Super Eagles Skipper won his first FA Cup medal with Arsenal in 2002, even though he did not play in the final.

In 2008, he got the name King Kanu as he scored the winning goal and played for 87 minutes as Portsmouth beat Cardiff to win the FA Cup. He was named Man of the Match of that final.

John Chukwudi Utaka (Portsmouth)

Former Super Eagles winger John Utaka was also on the pitch with Kanu as they both helped Portsmouth win the FA Cup final in 2008. Utaka played for 69 minutes before coming off.

John Mikel Obi (Chelsea)

Super Eagles Influential Captain John Mikel Obi was on the pitch for the full 120 minutes as Chelsea beat Manchester United 1-0 in extra-time time to lift the 2007 FA Cup. That was the midfielder’s first of four FA Cup trophies he won with Chelsea.

He was on the pitch from start to finish when Chelsea beat Everton 2-1 to win the 2009 FA Cup final.

Alex Iwobi (Arsenal)

Iwobi won the first trophy of his professional football career when Arsenal beat Chelsea 2-1 to win the 2017 FA Cup title. Although the  21-year-old didn’t play in the final, he gets an FA Cup medal as an Arsenal player


Victor Moses (Chelsea)

Super Eagles forward Victor Moses is the most recent Nigerian to have won the prestigious trophy, having played in the 2018 FA Cup final between Chelsea and Manchester United and was on the winning side.

The former Wigan Athletic star man was on for 90 minutes as Chelsea got the win via a first-half penalty by Eden Hazard.

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!