Bayern Munich Seal Sixth DFB Supercup defeating Dortmund 5-4 on Penalties

Bayern Munich Seal Sixth DFB Supercup defeating Dortmund 5-4 on Penalties

Bayern Munich have won the DFB Super Cup after defeating Borussia Dortmund 5-4 on penalties following a 2-2 full time result.

The victory means Bayern now have DFB Supercup number six; the most by any team in Germany.

Bayern’s hitman Lewandowski made amends six minutes later with a simple tap-in from three metres after a darting run and cross by right back Joshua Kimmich, who beat the offside trap.

Dortmund keeper Roman Buerki made four superb saves in the opening half to deny Thomas Mueller twice, Sebastian Rudy and the evergreen Franck Ribery, who gave his markers a roasting on the left flank.

The pace remained unrelenting after the break as Bayern pressed forward but were again punished for squandering several opportunities.

Released by strike partner Ousmane Dembele, the elusive Aubameyang slipped through the middle and dinked his shot with the outside of his foot over Ulreich from 13 metres.

Just when the home fans were ready to start celebrating, an almighty melee ensued in the 88th minute after the ball cannoned off the Dortmund crossbar and Piszczek turned it into his own net after Kimmich got a touch.

Dortmund again gained the upper hand during the shootout as Buerki saved Kimmich’s shot, but his counterpart Ulreich then denied Sebastian Rode and Bartra to hand Bayern their first trophy of the season.

Dortmund took the lead in the 12th minute through Pusilic but could not hold on for long.

Six minutes later, Robert Lewandowski netted the equalizer.

Last season’s top scorer in the Bundesliga, Pierre Emerick-Aubameyang restored Dortmund’s lead on 71 minutes.

However, an own goal by Burki saw Bayern level for the second time to force the game into penalties as both sides held out.

Bayern Munich converted five of their kicks while Marc Bartra’s failed penalty handed Carlo Ancelotti a silverware to open the season with.

The Supercup is the curtain raiser of the German Bundesliga.

It is played between the winners of the Bundesliga and DFB Pokal from the previous season.

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock