Dakar, Not Lagos to host 2018 African Player of the Year Award Night

Dakar, Not Lagos to host 2018 African Player of the Year Award Night

CAF have picked the Capital city of Senegal, Dakar to host the 2018 African Player of the year award Night coming up on 8th January 2019.


This was disclosed in a communique signed by President of the Senegalese FA, Augustin Senghor, and announced on Friday, that the Aiteo/CAF awards will hold on January 8, 2019, in Dakar, Senegal.


“The Head of State (Macky Sall), who received in audience the President of the African Confederation of Football, Ahmad, this Thursday, has agreed that our capital is home to this important event of the continental football”, Senghor said.


“They had already talked about it in Moscow at the World Cup. And this audience has come to confirm everything, “added Augustin Senghor.

He said he was asked to head a “sub-committee” responsible for organizing the ceremony of handing over the African Ballon d’Or in Dakar.


Nigeria [Lagos and Abuja] and Ghana [Accra] have hosted the majority of the gala night, but Senghor also disclosed that the gala will now be rotated among Africa’s famous Cities.


“It is a great honor for our country and for Senegalese football to organize this event. Moreover, it was decided that the event will rotate in other African cities after its holding in Dakar ”, continued the president of the FSF.

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give www.brila.net the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock