Iheanacho asks to leave Leicester despite breaking Yakubu’s FA Cup record

Iheanacho asks to leave Leicester despite breaking Yakubu’s FA Cup record

Kelechi Iheanacho has asked Leicester City to let him leave on loan before the window closes – with Newcastle United ready to offer him first-team football.

The Nigerian International, Iheanacho has started just two Premier League games since his £25million move from Manchester City in the summer.

Leicester boss Claude Puel is now ready to let the 21-year-old get some game time, and whilst there are clubs from around Europe clamouring for his signature, Newcastle is emerging as a genuine contender for his signature.

The Magpies were thought to be interested in the former City forward over the summer but missed out to the Foxes.

Iheanacho’s move to the King Power has not worked out as expected and Rafa Benitez is ready to try again for Iheanacho and will make a move if they continue to fail in their pursuit of number one target, Feyenoord’s Nicolai Jorgenson.

However, Kelechi Iheanacho has broken former Nigeria international, Yakubu Aiyegbeni’s goal record in the FA Cup.

Iheanacho scored twice in Leicester City’s 5-1 thrashing of Peterborough on Saturday.

In doing so, the 21-year-old broke a record previously held by Aiyegbeni, as he took his tally in the prestigious competition to 9 goals in 9 appearances.

Aiyegbeni notched 8 goals in 20 appearances in the FA Cup wearing the jerseys of Everton, Leicester City, Blackburn Rovers, Reading, Middlesbrough, and Portsmouth.

While it took the retired Nigeria international ten years to score eight goals in the FA Cup, Iheanacho became Nigeria’s leading scorer in the FA Cup after only two years.

Below are Nigeria’s top ten scorers in the FA Cup:

  1. Kelechi Iheanacho – 9 goals, 9 matches
  1. Yakubu Aiyegbeni – 8 goals, 20 matches
  1. Victor Moses – 6 goals, 29 matches
  1. Nwankwo Kanu – 6 goals, 24 matches
  1. Victor Anichebe – 4 goals, 21 matches
  1. Danny Shittu- 4 goals, 12 matches
  1. Emmanuel Emenike – 4 goals, 6 matches
  1. Kayode Odejayi – 3 goals, 26 matches
  1. Obi Mikel – 3 goals, 32 matches
  1. Victor Obinna Nsofor, 3 goals, 3 matches

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give www.brila.net the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2023 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
error: Content is protected !!