Nigeria Sports Award 2019 – The Winners

Nigeria Sports Award 2019 – The Winners

The 8th edition of the Nigerian Sports Awards (NSA) event went down at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos on Friday of 29th November 2019.

As usual, outstanding sports personalities in various disciplines were recognized in the Gala that was held at the Jasmine Hall of the 5-Star hotel. Nigerian award winning artists Oritsefemi and Sir Shina curtain-raised the event that was attended by respected former Nigerian sportsmen and women among other dignitaries.

The 2019 edition attracted more than 35 million general public votes, a massive leap from the previous editions. There was an increased voter record for all shortlisted categories according to the event organizers, which shows that Nigerians are appreciative of the contribution of the country’s top sportsmen and women plying their trade in different parts of the world. A total of 16 award categories were up for grabs where different voting platforms were provided for the general public to participate in the exercise. As you check out the eventual winners, you can also place your bets on for a chance to win good money on different sports.

Categories for this year’s event included: Individual Sports Person of the Year, Team Sports Person of the year, Footballer of the year, Basketball Player of the Year, Discovery of the Year, Coach of the year, Sports Administrator of the Year, Athletic Star of the Year, Racket Sports Person of the Year, Team of the Year, Para-Sports Person of the Year, Sports Man of the Year, and the Sports Woman of the Year.

Nigeria is a known soccer powerhouse, and fans could not wait to see who went home with the award for the country’s Footballer of the Year. It was no surprise when Odion Ighalo’s name was called out to receive the award. This follows Ighalo’s exploits in the 2019 AFCON that took place in Egypt, where the former English Premier League star emerged the top scorer in a tournament that featured big names such as the prolific Liverpool duo of Sadio Mane of Senegal, and Mohamed Salah of Egypt, as well as Riyad Mahrez of Algeria and Manchester City. Mind you, these are regular favorites to score in the EPL according to Betway.

Ighalo saw off strong competition from Super Falconets striker Asisat Oshoala and Eagles youngster Samuel Chukwueze.


The exclusive list of eventual winners:

Footballer of the year – Odion Ighalo

Athlete of the year – Ese Brume

Sports Person of the year – Ese Brume

Team of the Year – D’Tigress

Sports Journalist of the year – Dare Kuti

Sports Photo Journalist of the year – Modo Victor

Weightlifter of the year – Emmanuel Appah

Discovery of the year – Foloshade Lawal

Team Sports Person of the year – Farouk Yusuf

Racket Sports Person of the year – Anuoluwapo Opeyori

Wrestler of the year – Odunayo Adekuruoye

Basketball Player of the year – Evelyn Akhator

Para-Sports Person of the year – Bose Omolayo

Coach of the year – Christopher Nwadei

Sports Administrator of the year (Badminton) – Onome Obruthe

Sports Administrator of the year (Handball) – Sam Ocheho


D’Tigress pipped The Super Eagles to the team of the year award thanks to their exploits in the FIBA Women’s World Cup held in Spain in 2018. The ladies’ basketball team beat all odds to break several records for the African continent. Star Evelyn Akhator picked up from where she left off in the last year’s event to win the Basketball Player of the Year for yet another season.

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!