Rohr snubs Onuachu, lists Musa, 21 Others For AFCON Qualifiers

Rohr snubs Onuachu, lists Musa, 21 Others For AFCON Qualifiers

Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr has left Paul Onuachu out of his initial squad to face Benin Republic and Lesotho in this month’s African cup of Nations qualifiers.

Onuachu is Nigeria’s leading scorer in Europe this season with 26 goals in all competitions for Belgian side KRC Gent, but the form could only earn him a place in the stand-by list.


Meanwhile, captain Ahmed Musa, who is currently without a club, was included in the list along side fit again forward Victor Osimhen.


Goalkeeper Francis Uzoho made a return to the 24-man squad, while Enyimba shot stopper John Noble was selected ahead of form Ikechukwu Ezenwa.


Nigeria will tackle the Squirrels of Benin Republic  away at the Stade Charles de Gaulle in Porto Novo on Saturday, 27th March.


The team then returns home to take on Crocodiles of Lesotho at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos three days later.




Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)


Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, The Netherlands)


Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosa, Cyprus); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)


Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Unattached); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Sadiq Umar (Almeria FC, Spain); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (FC Girondins Bordeaux, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France)


Standby: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Peter Olayinka (Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Michael Olise (Reading FC, England); Adekunle Adeleke (Abia Warriors).

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!