Ronaldo vs Modric: who deserves the 2018 FIFA Balon d’Or?

Ronaldo vs Modric: who deserves the 2018 FIFA Balon d’Or?

World Cup star Luka Modric will lead the challenge against a decade-long dominance of Fifa’s best player award by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.


Modric, the Croatia captain who was named the tournament’s best player, joined five-time winners Ronaldo and Messi among 10 candidates announced by Fifa on Tuesday (Wednesday NZT).


For the first time, Fifa has opened voting within days of the World Cup, where Ronaldo and Messi both exited in the round of 16.


Varane is the only defender selected by a Fifa expert panel which did not pick Brazil star Neymar. The 13-man panel included three Brazilians – former Fifa award winners Ronaldo and Kaka, and 1994 World Cup-winning coach Carlos Alberto Parreira.


Belgium, which lost to France in the semifinals, has Kevin De Bruyne and Eden Hazard on the shortlist.


It is completed by World Cup golden boot winner Harry Kane of England and Mohamed Salah, the Egypt forward who was inspirational in Liverpool’s run to the Champions League final.


The winners announced in London on September 24 are voted by national coaches and captains, plus media from Fifa’s 211 member countries, and fans voting online.


Three finalists will be announced before the ceremony.


Who do you think should win the prestigious award? Tell us in the comment section

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock
error: Content is protected !!