‘Sarri-ball’s win one, lose one promo’ – Do you see Chelsea beating Malmo tonight?

‘Sarri-ball’s win one, lose one promo’ – Do you see Chelsea beating Malmo tonight?

Chelsea head into Thursday night’s Europa League encounter against Malmö FF desperately in need of a win. With the rest of the season quickly going downhill — out of the top four, out of the FA Cup, and probably about to lose badly in the League Cup final — the Europa League probably represents the Blues’, and certainly Sarri’s, only realistic chance of salvation.

A win against Malmö may still not be enough to save Sarri’s job, especially if it’s followed up by repeat embarrassments against Manchester City (League Cup final) and Spurs (at home in the league), but it’s probably a minimum requirement to keep it. (Unless we’ve become strangely complacent and accepting of mediocrity.)


 

Chelsea do have a 2-1 lead from the first leg — should’ve been far more comfortable, but this is just how things go these days — so technically we don’t actually have to win to advance into the last 16, and a draw or even a 0-1 loss would do, but surely this is as must-win of a game as they come in this situation.

 

Date / Time: Thursday, February 21, 2019, 20:00 GMT; 3pm EST; 1:30am IST (next day)

 

Venue: Stamford Bridge, SW6

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give www.brila.net the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.

COMMENTS

WORDPRESS: 0
Comodo SSL SiteLock