Atkinson Tells Ronaldo ‘ You Were Offside ‘ before first Goal against Atletico

Atkinson Tells Ronaldo ‘ You Were Offside ‘ before first Goal against Atletico

Atkinson

Credit: Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo caught up with referee Martin Atkinson in the tunnel at half-time to debate his opening goal in Real Madrid’s win over Atletico Madrid.

Ronaldo hit a hat-trick to give Madrid a commanding 3-0 victory in the first leg of their Champions League semi-final against Diego Simeone’s side on Tuesday evening.


 

But the 32-year-old’s opener has sparked debate as it appeared that he was standing in an offside position in the build-up to the goal.

Atkinson

Ronaldo was in an offside position in the build-up to his first goal | Credit: BT Sport

A cross from Sergio Ramos was directed towards Ronaldo, who was returning from an offside position, and the ball was hastily cleared by Stevan Savic.

 

Casemiro was able to deliver another ball into the box which Ronaldo met with his head to fire past Jan Oblak.

 

But as the players were walking out of the tunnel for the second half, Spanish television channel Mega showed images of Ronaldo catching up with the officials to discuss his goal.

Atkinson

Ronaldo caught up with Atkinson in the tunnel | Mega

Atkinson, offside?’ asked Ronaldo. ‘Did you see?’

Atkinson is then heard replying with: ‘At first you are.’

Ronaldo quickly responded with: ‘Yeah, but I didn’t interfere [with play].’

Atkinson’s response was inaudible but another member of his team were heard saying: ‘Interfering, no.’

 

Culled from Metro

COMMENTS

WORDPRESS: 0
Comodo SSL SiteLock