Dennerby taking no chances, invites Oshoala for Ivory Coast

Dennerby taking no chances, invites Oshoala for Ivory Coast

Super Falcons Head Coach Thomas Dennerby wants to crank up the pressure on all comers as he bids to secure Nigeria’s place in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

The Swede won the 2018 AWCON and guided the Falcons to a round of 16 spot at the FIFA World Cup this year, but it never seems to be enough.


Dennerby has come under criticism for his style of play and the team’s struggles against emerging teams.


A solitary Asisat Oshoala strike, at home, against Algeria eased Nigeria (3-0 aggregate) into the second round of the qualifiers, and She’ll return for the first-leg against Ivory Coast.


The FC Barcelona Femeni striker headlines the list of seven foreign-based invited for the clash.


A total of thirty home based players will try out in the team’s Abuja camp, for spots in the final squad.



The NFF has already picked Sunday, 6th October for the return leg match, slated for the Agege Stadium, according the Federation’s media department.


All invited home-based players are expected to arrive Abuja on Sunday, 15th September 2019.


Home-based Invitees:

Goalkeepers: Christy Ohiaeriaku (Delta Queens); Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Onyinyechukwu Okeke (Bayelsa Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels).


Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Opeyemi Sunday (Sunshine Queens); Abidemi Ibe (Bayelsa Queens); Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons); Margaret Etim (Rivers Angels); Maryam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons); Mary Ologbosere (Rivers Angels); Blessing Edoho (Ibom Angels); Tosin Dimeyin (Sunshine Queens).


Midfielders: Osarenoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens); Ihuoma Onyebuchi (Sunshine Queens); Folashade Ijamilusi (FC Robo); Suliat Abideen (Sunshine Queens); Josephine Mathias (Rivers Angels); Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Regina Otu (Edo Queens); Cecilia Nku (Rivers Angels).


Forwards: Adejoke Ejalonibu (Nasarawa Amazons); Rafiat Sule (Rivers Angels); Tessy Biahwo (Bayelsa Queens); Alice Ogebe (Rivers Angels); Aloko Abdulkareem (Nasarawa Amazons); Gift Monday (FC Robo); Lola Philips (Nasarawa Amazons); Titilayo Aweda (Confluence Queens); Cynthia Aku (Rivers Angels)


Foreign-based Invitees:

Rasheedat Ajibade (Avaldsnes, Norway); Osinachi Ohale (CD Tacon, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna DFF, Sweden); Francisca Ordega (Shanghai Zyhongyuan, China); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Chidinma Okeke (Madrid CFF, Spain).

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!