Nigeria’s men’s volleyball team set for AAG qualifier in Abidjan

Nigeria’s men’s volleyball team set for AAG qualifier in Abidjan

A 17-member team led by Nigeria Police Force player, Daniel Nathaniel who doubles as the captain left Abuja on Thursday night for Côte d’Ivoire.

Nigeria boasts of three foreign players which include; Arinze Nwachukwu (Fernabache of Turkey), Samuel Ogwuche (Asaria of Libya) and Uchenna Ofoha (CVM of Germany).


Other home-based players to watch out for are; Izu Nwachukwu (Plateau Rocks), Afun Idowu (Ondo Spikers), Sebon David (NSCDC) and Prince Anyasodike (Immigrations).


 The team will be tutored by the coach of Niger Brass, Japhet Nuhu; coach of Police Force, Taiwo Oladipupo and COAS Spikers coach, Elishama Elam.


The president of Nigeria Volleyball Federation, Engineer Musa Nimrod said he believes Nigeria can qualify for the 2019 All Africa Games in Morocco.


He said, “I believe the boys will win, the spirit is high. The boys are charged and they have been able to appreciate the situation they found themselves and are also happy. The players are willing to lay their lies for Nigeria on the court when the battle begins”.


Nimrod further said, “There are two tickets for grab in our zone but I am interested in the first ticket not the second ticket.


“A lot of countries do not know some of these new boys in the team but they are fantastic. Nigeria volleyball players in Diaspora are willing to play for the fatherland and this is a wonderful development.  Currently, in the team, we have Canada based Uchenna Ofoha who will play in Abidjan.


 I have been informed that a female Nigeria player who plies her trade in Greece is ready to represent Nigeria.


The Zone 3 Men’s All Africa Games Qualifiers from 17th to 25th May 2019 in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire.

Full list


1 Daniel Nathianel (Captain)

2 Patrick Davou


3 Ibrahim Adamu

4 Afun Idowu

Middle Blockers:

5 Izu Nwachukwu

6 Moses Gana

7 Arinze  Nwachukwu

8 Uche Ofoha

Side Spikers:

9 Samuel Ogwuche

10 Sebon David

11 Ogunshina Abayomi

12 Princewell Okoi


13 Prince Anyasodike

14 Morris Dikiya.


Japhet Nuhu

Taiwo Oladipupo

Elishama Elam

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2023 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!