Top World Cup Scorers Over the Years

Top World Cup Scorers Over the Years

Goals take a lot of work to come by for any professional footballer in the World Cup. The few to have picked up the golden boot before are household names in soccer’s history.

We shall go through the top scorers in recent tournaments’ history. In this list, you shall discover some of football’s legends. Read through to find those participating in the current competition.

Golden Boot Winners In Recent World Cup Tournaments

Harry Kane- Russia 2018

England’s striker Harry Kane was a big contributor to the team’s deep reach in the playoffs.

Kane had featured in all 6 matches and scored 6 goals. He tied fellow England player Gary Lineker’s 1986 World Cup scoring record and became the second English player to do so.

Antone Griezman took the silver boot with 4 goals and 2 assists, while Lukaku won the bronze boot with 4 goals and 1 assist.

Betway players who had staked on either of the individuals to score were amongst the top cash winners during the 2018 competition. You can also try sports betting on Betway, with many matches coming up during the World Cup’s group-stage competitions.

James Rodriguez – Brazil 2014

The streets won’t forget the young Rodriguez back in 2014’s World Cup 2014. The Colombian won the Golden Boot after netting six goals in Brazil, despite his team being eliminated in the quarters by the host country.

The then 22-year-old rising star managed to score a goal in each of his team’s five games. Two assists also topped his six goals. You’ll be interested to know that he had the goal of the tournament, which he scored against Uruguay.

Thomas Muller came close with 5 goals, while Neymar Jr had 4 goals.

Thomas Muller – South Africa 2010

Thomas Muller was tied with three other players during the 2010 World Cup, but he had the edge with more assists. The other top scorers he edged were the respective best players of the tournament were:

Diego Forlan – Golden Ball
Wesley Sneijder– Silver Ball
David Villa – Bronze Ball

Since it was Muller’s debut as a young star, he also managed to bag the Young Player of the competition award.

He is now a veteran player and is present in the ongoing 2022 World Cup. It is only automatic to assume he is looking forward to another golden boot trophy.

Miroslav Josef Klose – Germany 2006

Josef Klose is another notable German on the list. His golden boot came at home, where he finished with 5 goals in 7 matches. Close competitors were the likes of Zinedine Zidane (golden ball winner), Ronaldo, and Thierry Henry.

He stands out from the rest, being the competition’s highest top scorer in history, with 16 goals in 24 appearances. Also, he is among the few players in history to appear in the competition 4 consecutive times.

Ronaldo – 2002 Japan & South Korea World Cup

The Brazil legend Ronaldo scored 8 goals in 7 matches, with two goals coming in the final.

He is one of the best footballers to play the game, and his goal-scoring record in the competitions is a testament to what he did throughout his career. He sits second in total goals, with 15 in 16 matches dating back from 1998 to 2006 competitions.


It is up to the current tournament’s players to determine who is hungry enough to run with Qatar’s golden boot. As the tournament continues, you can use the Betway site to stake players to score for the respective matches.

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2020 Brila Media.


Comodo SSL SiteLock
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!