Quadri, Musa and Akhator win big at the Nigeria Sports Award

Quadri, Musa and Akhator win big at the Nigeria Sports Award

Table Tennis star Aruna Quadri, Super Eagles vice Captain Ahmed Musa and D’Tigress’s Evelyn Akhator were part of the biggest winners at Nigeria Sports Award held at Banquet Hall of the Eko Hotels on Friday in Lagos.

Having stars in D‘tigress great run to quarter final of FIBA Women’s world cup in Tenerife, Spain, Akhator was great performance was recognized as she voted the Outstanding Sportswoman of the Year and Basketball Player of the Year, to cap memorable year for theslam and dunk star.


In the Sportsman of the year category, Aruna Quadri who was instrumental in the outstanding performances of the Nigeria Table Tennis team at the commonwealth games in Gold Coast beatsD’Tiger’s Captain Ike Diogu to Outstanding Sportsman of the Yearawards.


The Footballer of the Year award went to Super Eagles standin Captain Ahmed Musa for his tremendous contribution to the team’s qualification for the world cup and good performance at the competition proper in Russia.


Musa won the award ahead of Super Eagles teammate Kenneth Omeruo and Super Falcons forward Rasheedat Ajibade.


Joy Udo – Gabriel won the Discovery of the Year for her good form in athletics and the wrestler of the year award was won by another commonwealth games medalist Odunayo Adekuoroye.


Squash star Yemisi Olatunji won the Racket Sports of the Year at the expense of Lagos Table Tennis open champion Aruna Quadri and Marylove Edwards.


Commonwealth games 110 hurdles gold medalist Tobi Amusan won the Track and Field Sports Person of the Year and Feyisetan Arewon the Coach of the Year after dusting Super Eagles coach GernotRohr and DTigress coach Otis Hughley to the award.


D ’ Tigress was named team of the Year ahead of the Super Eagles and the Nigeria ’s Korea winter Olympics Bobsled team while Seun Adigun won the Team Sports Person of the Year.


President Badminton Federation of Nigeria Francis Orbih was named the Sports Administrator of the Year .

Gowon Akpodonor of The Guardian won the Journalist of the Year(Print ) , and George Essien won the Journalist of the Year (Radio ).

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give www.brila.net the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2024 Brila Media.



WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
error: Content is protected !!