Spain crowned record U-17 European champions

Spain crowned record U-17 European champions

The UEFA U-17 European Championship 2017 in Croatia reached its climax on Friday evening, with Spain ending up as worthy winners.

The competition also served to determine the five European participants at the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017, which will take place from 6 – 28 October in India.
Alongside the two finalists, France, Germany and Turkey also booked their tickets to the global showdown.

Spain and England met in the final for the third time in this age category.

La Roja lifted the title in 2007 but the Three Lions exacted their revenge three years later.

Their third encounter could hardly have been more dramatic.

Spain substitute Nacho Diaz headed his side level at 2-2 in the sixth minute of additional time, forcing the tie to a penalty shoot-out in which Rhian Brewster and Joel Latibeaudiere missed for England.

Spain had previously beaten Germany on penalties in the semi-finals.

The Iberians will now head to the U-17 World Cup as continental champions, with Croatia 2017 representing their record-extending ninth title at this level.

Although yet to triumph at the global finals, they nevertheless have an impressive record, finishing as runners-up three times and earning the bronze medal twice.


Culled from FIFA 

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2024 Brila Media.



WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!