10-man Rivers United subdue Nasarawa United

10-man Rivers United subdue Nasarawa United

Rivers United overcame Nasarawa United 1-0 in a Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) game decided on Saturday at the Yakubu Gowon Stadium, Port Harcourt.

Ayo Saka scored the winner, from an enthralling team goal that left the Nasarawa United goalkeeper, Suraj Ayeleso floundering.

Saka, who is making only his second start for the club after his mid-season switch from Sunshine Stars, made the decisive contribution in the match.

The midfielder latched onto a superb pass from John Odumegwu who was slipped through by a deft skill by Obomate Frederick before firing past the Nasarawa United goalkeeper, Suraj Ayeleso in the 38th minute.

Five minutes earlier, Rivers United were reduced to ten men after captain, Festus Austine was sent off for a second booking , after he handled the ball.

Rather than let, their heads drop, the hosts stepped on the accelerator and deservedly took the lead through Saka’s supreme finish.

Odumegwu should have doubled their advantage shortly before half time but shot straight at Ayeleso from point blank range.

The second half failed to match the first in terms of the sheer athleticism and sublime play, as United held out for three vital points.

With the win Rivers United moved up two places on the log and now occupy 11th spot with 27 points from 20 matches while Nasarawa United remain in ninth place with 27 points from 20 matches.

Match statistics

Rivers United: Sunday Rotimi,  Ifeanyi Nweke,  Zoumana Doumbia,  Emeka Atuloma, Festus Austine, Ayobami Asekunuwo, Obomate Frederick, (Onoriode Odah 80′), Emeka Ogbugh, Guy Kuemian (Markson Ojobo 60′), Ayo Saka,  John Odumegwu (Ifeanyi Okoye 86′).

Substitutes not Used: Femi Thomas, Chiwendu Ali, Israel Daniel and Yusuf Jaiyeola.
Nasarawa United: Suraj Ayeleso,  Yinka  Onaolapo (Abubakar Abdullahi 78’),  Emmanuel Makama, Eugene Obi, Seun Sogbeso, Jide Williams, Abdulrahman Bashir (Fabiyi Tayo 75′), Ishaya Anyu,  Ocheme Edoh (Philip Auta 57’),  Douglas Achiv and Adamu Hassan.
Substitutes not Used: Danlami Umar, Manga Mohammed, Abu Ahmed and Aminu Kadiri.
Yellow cards: Abdulrahman Bashir 49′, Sunday Rotimi 25′, Festus Austine 25′ and 31′.

Red card: Festus Austine: 33’

Goal: Ayo Saka 38′.

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give www.brila.net the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2024 Brila Media.



WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
error: Content is protected !!