IAAF Diamond League Adopts new Format

IAAF Diamond League Adopts new Format


Credit: Getty Images

In its biggest restructure since the series began in 2010, this year’s IAAF Diamond League will adopt a championship-style model whereby athletes earn points at the first 12 meetings to qualify for the two finals.

In previous seasons, athletes accumulated points throughout the IAAF Diamond League season with the overall winner of each of the 32 disciplines being the athlete with the most points, irrespective of whether they won the final.


This year, the winners of each discipline in the finals will be crowned as IAAF Diamond League champions, earning a $50,000 bonus and the Diamond Trophy.


The scoring system has also changed for 2017. Whereas previously only the top six finishers in each discipline earned points, the top eight will now be rewarded.


Eight points will go to the winner, seven points to second place and so on, with one point going to the athlete in eighth place.


Each discipline will be staged six or four times before the finals. At the end of the 12 qualification meetings, the top seven, eight or 12 athletes (depending on the discipline) will be invited to compete in the final.


In case of a tie, the best legal performance of the qualification phase wins.


Culled from IAAF

If you use the quotes from this content, you legally agree to give www.brila.net the News credit as the source and a backlink to our story. Copyright 2024 Brila Media.



WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
error: Content is protected !!